This blog has reached the end of Thanks all friends for all the years we have traveled in the world of music together. Goodbye!!!

Τετάρτη 31 Ιανουαρίου 2018

Chelsea Wolfe - Abyss (2015)

Chelsea Joy Wolfe (born November 14, 1983) is an American singer-songwriter and musician. Raised in Northern California with a country musician father, she began writing and recording songs during her childhood. Wolfe has earned underground critical acclaim for her releases, The Grime and the Glow (2010) and Apokalypsis (2011), which blended elements of gothic rock and folk music, as well as her following albums, Pain Is Beauty (2013) and Abyss (2015), in which Wolfe incorporated elements of neofolkelectronic and heavy metal.  Her music has been featured in promotional material for the 2017 Jaguar XE car as well as the television series Game of Thrones, Fear the Walking Dead and How to Get Away with Murder.
Abyss is the fourth studio album by American singer-songwriter and her eponymous band Chelsea Wolfe. The album was released on August 7, 2015 through Sargent House and was produced by John Congleton.[2][3] It also features guest contributions from Mike Sullivan of Russian Circles and Dan Phillips from True Widow

Musical style

Nina Corcoran of Consequence of Sound described the album as "strik[ing] a fine balance between gothic folk and electronic noise rock" and "embracing metal and overpowering drones".[2] Brandon Stosuy of Pitchfork noted that metallic elements are "built into, and integral to, the music, which frequently booms with distorted doom-metal guitar."[5] Tristan Jones of Sputnikmusic wrote: "Though “darkwave” is a fitting descriptor, elements of doom, folk, noise, and industrial seep in."[6] Giuseppe Zevolli of Drowned in Soundassociated the album with goth rock, writing that it "could appeal to fans of metal, folk, industrial and alternative rock in equal measure"

Track listing

1. "Carrion Flowers" 4:50
2. "Iron Moon" 5:46
3. "Dragged Out" 4:20
4. "Maw" 5:54
5. "Grey Days" 5:19
6. "After the Fall" 5:35
7. "Crazy Love" 3:33
8. "Simple Death" 5:22
9. "Survive" 5:38
10. "Color of Blood" 4:48
11. "The Abyss"


Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια:

Δημοσίευση σχολίου