This blog has reached the end of Thanks all friends for all the years we have traveled in the world of music together. Goodbye!!!

Τρίτη 20 Νοεμβρίου 2018

The Sisters of Mercy - Floodland (1987)

The Sisters of Mercy are an English rock band, formed in 1980 in Leeds.[4] After achieving early underground fame there, the band had their commercial breakthrough in the mid-1980s and sustained it until the early 1990s, when they stopped releasing new recorded output in protest against their record company WEA. Currently, the band is a touring outfit only.

The group has released three original studio albums, the last of which was released in 1990. Each album was recorded by a different line-up; singer-songwriter Andrew Eldritch and the drum machine called Doktor Avalanche are the only points of continuity throughout. Eldritch and Avalanche were also involved in the Sisterhood, a side-project connected with Eldritch's dispute with former members.

The group ceased recording activity in 1993, when they went on strike against Time Warner, which they accused of incompetence and withholding royalties. Although Time Warner released them from their contract in 1997, they have not signed to another label, despite showcasing numerous new songs in their live sets.

Since 1985, and the departure of the other original members, the Sisters of Mercy has become uniquely Eldritch's artistic vehicle. Former members of the group established the bands Ghost Dance and the Mission.

Track listing

All tracks written by Andrew Eldritch.
Side one
1. "Dominion/Mother Russia" 7:00
2. "Flood I" 6:22
3. "Lucretia My Reflection" 4:57
4. "1959" 4:09
Total length: 22:30

Side two
1. "This Corrosion" 9:16
2. "Flood II" 6:19
3. "Driven Like the Snow" 4:39
4. "Never Land (a fragment)" 2:46
Total length: 22:57



Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια:

Δημοσίευση σχολίου