This blog has reached the end of Thanks all friends for all the years we have traveled in the world of music together. Goodbye!!!

Κυριακή 1 Απριλίου 2018

Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic - 1974

Steely Dan
is an American rock band founded by core members Walter Becker (guitars, bass, backing vocals) and Donald Fagen(keyboards, lead vocals) in 1972. Blending elements of jazz, traditional pop, R&B, and sophisticated studio production with cryptic and ironic lyrics, the band enjoyed critical and commercial success starting from the early 1970s until breaking up in 1981.[4] Throughout their career, the duo recorded with a revolving cast of session musicians, and in 1974 retired from live performances to become a studio-only band. Rolling Stone has called them "the perfect musical antiheroes for the Seventies".[5]

After the group disbanded in 1981, Becker and Fagen were less active throughout most of the next decade, though a cult following[4]remained devoted to the group. Since reuniting in 1993 Steely Dan has released two albums of new material, the first of which, Two Against Nature, earned a Grammy Award for Album of the Year. They have sold more than 40 million albums worldwide and were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in March 2001.[6][7][8][9] VH1 listed Steely Dan at #82 as one of the 100 greatest musical artists of all time.[10] Becker died on September 3, 2017, leaving Fagen as the only official member.
Pretzel Logic is the third studio album by the American rock band Steely Dan, released on February 20, 1974, by ABC Records. It was written by principal band members Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, and recorded at The Village Recorder in West Los Angeles with producer Gary Katz. It was the final album to feature the full five-member band of Becker, Fagen, Denny Dias, Skunk Baxter, and Jim Hodder, and also featured significant contributions from many prominent Los Angeles-based studio musicians.

The album was a commercial and critical success upon its release. Its hit single "Rikki Don't Lose That Number" helped restore Steely Dan's radio presence after the disappointing performance of their 1973 album Countdown to Ecstasy. Pretzel Logic was reissued on CD in 1987 and remastered in 1999 to retrospective acclaim from critics.


Side one
1. "Rikki Don't Lose That Number" 4:32
2. "Night by Night" 3:40
3. "Any Major Dude Will Tell You" 3:05
4. "Barrytown" 3:17
5. "East St. Louis Toodle-Oo" Duke Ellington, Bubber Miley 2:45

Side two
6. "Parker's Band" 2:36
7. "Through with Buzz" 1:30
8. "Pretzel Logic" 4:32
9. "With a Gun" 2:15
10. "Charlie Freak" 2:41
11. "Monkey in Your Soul"


Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια:

Δημοσίευση σχολίου