This blog has reached the end of Thanks all friends for all the years we have traveled in the world of music together. Goodbye!!!

Τρίτη 13 Σεπτεμβρίου 2016

New York Dolls – New York Dolls 1973

New York Dolls is the debut studio album by American hard rock band the New York Dolls. It was released on July 27, 1973, byMercury Records. The band formed in 1971 and developed a following while playing regularly in lower Manhattan. However, they were unappealing to record companies because of their onstage cross-dressing and vulgarity, while most record producers were reluctant to work with them. For shock value, the band was photographed in exaggerated drag on the album cover.

After signing a two-record deal with Mercury, the New York Dolls recorded their self-titled first album at The Record Plant in New York City with producer Todd Rundgren, who was known for his sophisticated pop sound and held a lukewarm opinion of the band. They incorporated carefree rock and roll and Brill Building pop influences in the album's hard rock songs, while the lyrics were written mostly by lead singer David Johansen and touched on themes such as urban youth, teen alienation, adolescent romance, and authenticity.

New York Dolls received widespread acclaim from critics when it was first released but sold poorly and had a divisive effect on listeners. The band toured the United States to promote the record, but they were difficult to market and developed a reputation for rock-star excesses. Despite its commercial failure, the album was an influential precursor to the 1970s punk rock movement and has since been named in various publications as one of the greatest debut records in rock music and one of the greatest albums of all time.


Track listing
Side one
1. "Personality Crisis" David Johansen, Johnny Thunders 3:43
2. "Looking for a Kiss" Johansen 3:20
3. "Vietnamese Baby" Johansen 3:39
4. "Lonely Planet Boy" Johansen 4:10
5. "Frankenstein (Orig.)" Johansen, Sylvain Sylvain 6:00

Side two
6. "Trash" Johansen, Sylvain 3:09
7. "Bad Girl" Johansen, Thunders 3:05
8. "Subway Train" Johansen, Thunders 4:22
9. "Pills" Bo Diddley 2:49
10. "Private World" Johansen, Arthur Kane 3:40
11. "Jet Boy" Johansen, Thunders 4:40



Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια:

Δημοσίευση σχολίου